To find a physician or for questions   903-676-1000

Reviews for Robert Dorman, MD, PhD, FACS


 06/05/2024

Dr Dorman did a great job I preshate everything he did for me I feel a lot better now I would tell any one to go to Dr Dorman he's a great surgeon thank you Dr Dorman

   — Theresa


 05/29/2024

My family moved from Louisiana to Texas for grandbabies.ūüėä For years I have been told that I had dense breast tissue and that it was nothing to worry about. I knew in my heart that my chances of getting breast cancer were high. All my family of three generations had breast cancer. My grandmother, mom and sister all had it. Thank the good Lord in heaven because he brought us to a wonderful surgeon by the name of Robert Dorman located in Athens, Texas. My mammogram came due at the end of October 2023. That‚Äôs where my journey began with the family history of breast cancer. Yes I had it in both breast and thank god for Dr. Robert Dorman and his t-totally wonderful staff!!!!! They have been nothing short of helpful, caring, loving, listening, crying, and anything other problems besides my cancer. they have gone to great lengths and I Love them!! Dr. Dorman is easy to talk to and explains everything in detail to where you KNOW what‚Äôs going on and gives you options on what can be done. I want to encourage anyone out there that maybe too scared to go and have a mammogram because it can save your life 4-sure! It did mine cause we caught it early thanks to the good Lord!! Thanks again, Dr. Robert Dorman, Melisa, and Lisa you guys ROCK. We are now Family!!! Susan Miller

   — Susan Miller


 05/21/2024

He did my emergency gallbladder removal and he was amazing. Talked me thru everything that he was going to do and very patient with all my questions. Great bedside manner

   — Ashley Spiker


 03/12/2024

He preformed gallbladder surgery and It was a great outcome. I no longer have stomach pain and my appetite has returned.

   — Bernie Hutson


 02/29/2024

Excellent Dr. Very skillful and professional...

   — Travis Sessions


 02/13/2024

I have been under Dr Dorman's care since May. I had a whole in my colon and had to have it repaired and have surgery and colostomy. I was scared to death after hearing the risk and possibly death. It was late at night and Dr. Dorman and his team prayed over me before surgery and made me feel so special and well taken care of. Dr. Dorman and his nurse Melissa made me feel like I was their own family. His whole staff as well as Lisa are so very dear to my heart. I went back to him for my reversal and then again for a Hernia repair. They called and checked on me on weekends and during the week. My care was always number one priorty to them. They made me feel as if i was thier only patient. I thank God for him and his team and for the kindness and compassion they have shown me in abundance. They are a blessing to me and I would recommend him above all else.

   — Gary Merrill


 01/24/2024

Dr. Dorman is a wonderful person! He's very well spoken and has always made me feel confident in his abilities.

   — Cooper Smith


 11/15/2023

Dr Dorman was kind and thoughtful during a very scary time in my life-a diagnosis of breast cancer.

   — Debby Jones


 08/29/2023

Great surgeon. Will highly recommend.

   — Flavio Balderas


 06/28/2023

Surgery went very well. All questions were answered. Seems a reasonable outcome.

   — Douglas Mather


 06/21/2023

Dr Dorman and his staff are world class. Surgery procedure was complete in no time. Recovery was a breeze. Follow up was symptom free. If you're dealing with Dr Dorman you're in good hands.

   — Brandon Adams


 04/03/2023

Dr. Dorman is one of the greatest surgeons I have ever had the pleasure of being my surgeon. He does a wonderful job in your surgery. He is caring, kind, and just all around a pleasure to talk to and visit with. He truly cares about every aspect of your healing, your comfort, and even office visits. Melissa, his nurse is loving and caring. The minute you walk in they just make you feel at peace. Dr. Dorman himself even called ne the next day after my surgery to check on me. He is meticulous about caring for his patients. I love my whole experience with having a lumpectomy has just been unbelievable with him and his office. If you ever need breast surgery I recommend him and his office higher than anyone you can find. They are wonderful. Just can't say enough about them. Thank you sooo much for all you all have done for me. I truly am grateful and love you all. God bless all of you.

   — Laura Phillips


 02/28/2023

Dr. Dorman operated on my abdominal in February ‚Äė23. He was very informative and professional with his work. Also respectful and patient with me for it being my first time surgery.

   — Andres Blanco


 02/10/2023

I had a surgical procedure done at UT health in Athens Texas. My surgeons name was Dr. Dorman. And he did an excellent job. The surgery was over with before I knew

   — Roy Cargill


 02/06/2023

He's the best. Just had my 2 week post op visit recovering from hernia repair. The whole process went like clockwork and was completely painless for me. Great surgeon and UT East Texas in Athens is a great hospital.

   — Claude Locke


 01/02/2023

Dr. Dorman did our son's Pilonidal Cystectomy & it went off without a hitch. It was our son's first, & hopefully last surgery, so we had stress & concerns but there was no need. He & his staff, as well as the staff at UT Health in Athens, were all clean, professional, friendly & helpful. All of our questions were answered & our concerns addressed with no attitude given. So many doctors these days rush everything & act like you're a burden for asking questions, but not Dr. Dorman. He was fast, efficient & patient. His nurse Melissa is a gem too! Thank ya'll for being there.

   — Christie's Cubby


 12/20/2022

My husband had double hernia surgery three weeks ago. Dr. Dorman did an awesome job! Took about two hours, recovery, and we were on our way home. No problems at all. Post Op appointment was yesterday, all was great! We were a little skeptical about having surgery in a smaller hospital, but after reading reviews on Dr. Dorman, we felt complete confidence in doing the surgery at UT Health East TX hospital in Athens TX. We would highly recommend Dr. Dorman for your surgical needs. The entire experience was very professional and, just good!

   — Norma Smith


 12/06/2022

They were very professional, and personal, dr dorman did great on my surgery, good experience all together.

   — Stephanie Dean


 10/31/2022

Fantastic surgeon with a great and helpful staff. Recommend fully

   — Joey Lockett


 10/05/2022

Dr. Dorman operated on my abdomen with absolutely no issues whatsoever. He was very thorough and showed care and concern like I have not experienced and it is obvious that he truly cares for his patients. I highly recommend him and think he is a wonderful surgeon.

   — Rebecca Boerner


 08/04/2022

In December of 2021 I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer HER2 +. He placed my Mediport in January 2022, and on May 27, 2022, Dr. Dorman performed my Bilateral Mastectomy at UT Hospital in Athens, Tx. I was very suprised that a smaller hospital, out of the way, had such an amazing and capable surgeon and the means to perform a surgery of this magnitude! The attention to detail and overall experience was wonderful! He showed compassion and was very supportive through this entire process. I am confident in his knowledge and capability as a Surgeon and would highly recommend him to anyone! After my surgery I received the BEST NEWS of all from him, pathology came back and it was negative for cancer! Through this entire journey he stuck with me, encouraged me and With his support I can proudly say, I Finished The Fight and WON! #breastcancersurvivor

   — Melisa Collum


 04/29/2022

The office space was very nice and the personnel were cheerful and well groomed for their position. Dr. Dorman was very thorough and straight forward. He gave us great advice. I would recommend him to anybody who is needing a general surgeon.

   — Trudie Gauntt


 07/14/2020

Dr. Dorman has been my physician for 30 years or more. He has always been professional, caring, and above all, knowledgeable.

   — Debbie Davies


 11/13/2016

Dr Dorman is incredible he actually sits down and listens

   — Sonja Quillin

* Please note this list does not include reviews written by anonymous users